top of page

All thought, emotion, and action have energy. Reiki is the Universal Life Energy that flows through all things. During a Reiki session, blocking energy is released and healing energy is downloaded from the highest level of love and light.


Reiki assists in relaxation through the process of releasing embodied stress and trauma. It provides support in alleviating fear, worry, anxiety, and depression that is often managed with addictive behavior.


Reiki reduces aches, pain, swelling, headaches, brain fog, and can speed the recovery from surgery and illness. Reiki strengthens and supports the body's natural healing process, often bringing greater clarity, deeper insight, and an overall feeling of well-being.


The Root Chakra

Location: The root chakra is associated with the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae.

What it is: Think about your root chakra as the foundation of a house, except for your body—when in balance it’s sturdy, stabilizing, and supportive. As such, it’s responsible for your sense of security and survival. It’s also connected to whatever you use to ground yourself, including basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety, as well as your more emotional needs such as letting go of fear and feeling safe.

When it’s blocked: A variety of ailments can occur from blockages, including anxiety disorders, fears, or nightmares, adherents say. Physically, the first chakra is associated with problems in the colon, with the bladder, with elimination, or with lower back, leg, or feet issues.

Color: Red

Element associated with it: Earth

The Sacral Chakra

Location: Above the pubic bone and below the navel

What it is: Consider the second chakra, or Svadhisthana, the most fun out of the seven. 

When your sacral chakra is aligned, you’ll likely feel great: You’re friendly, passionate, and successfully fulfilled while also eliciting feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and joy. By honoring your body and expressing yourself creatively, you’re keeping the energy wheels turning and fluid.

When it’s blocked: When you’re feeling uninspired creatively or have some emotional instability, your sacral chakra may be misaligned. Likewise, this can also be associated with physical sexual disfunction, while also potentially experiencing fear of change, depression, or addiction-like behaviors.

Color: Orange

Element: Water

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: From the navel to about the ribcage, it reportedly governs all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach-related.

What it is: With its Sanskrit name, Manipura, meaning “lustrous gem,” the third chakra is said to be your source of individual power, ruling over self-esteem.

When it’s blocked: You can suffer from low self-esteem, have difficulty making decisions, and may have anger or control issues. Likewise, you’ll also possibly have a tummy ache of some kind such as digestive issues or gas.

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

The Heart Chakra

Location: The center of the chest, encapsulating the heart, the thymus gland (which plays a vital role in your endocrine and lymphatic system), the lungs, and the breasts.

What it is: As the central chakra, the fourth chakra represents where the physical and the spiritual meet, according to the Chopra Center. And as its name implies, is all about the love. It’s believed that when your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion are flowing freely—both in terms of giving it out and getting it back.

When it’s blocked: A closed heart chakra can give way to grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others.

Color: Green and pink

Element: Air

The Throat Chakra

Location: The name says it all—anatomically, the throat chakra is associated with the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx.

What it is: Have zero problem saying how you feel? Your fifth chakra, which is all about speaking your inner truth—or specifically, ensuring that your inner truths are properly communicated—is likely well-balanced. With the Sanskrit name of Vishuddha, the throat chakra rules all communication. It’s the first of the three solely spiritual chakras. When this chakra is in check, you’re able to fully listen as well as speak and express yourself clearly.

When it’s blocked: In addition to having trouble speaking your truth, you find it hard to pay attention and stay focused, or fear judgment from others—which can further hinder your ability to keep it real. Physically, this blockage can manifest itself as a sore throat, thyroid issues, neck and shoulder stiffness, or tension headaches.

Color: Blue

Element: Ether

The Third-Eye Chakra

Location: Physically located between the eyebrows, the third eye is said to rule organs including the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain.

What it is: Don’t let its name confuse you. The third-eye, or Ajna chakra is actually your sixth chakra, and it reportedly governs your intuition—plus the ability to recognize and tap into it. What’s more, the third eye is also said to be responsible for all things between you and the outside world, serving as a bridge between the two. It allows you to cut through any illusions and drama to see the clear picture.

When it’s blocked: You may have trouble accessing your intuition, trusting your inner voice, recalling important facts, or learning new skills. And if your lower chakras—AKA the root, sacral, solar plexus, and heart chakras—and are unbalanced, your third eye will likely be as well, which may cause you to act more judgmental, dismissive, and introverted.

Color: Indigo

Element: Light

The Crown Chakra

Location: The crown of the head

What it is: Known in Sanskrit as Sahasrara, or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra, the crown is the center of enlightenment and our spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, the divine. When aligned, the realizations that occur within you are said to be along the lines of pure awareness consciousness—undivided and all expansive.

When it’s blocked: Unlike the other chakras, the crown chakra is often only opened up fully through specific yogic or meditative exercises, or at certain times—which is not a skill set you can call upon at any given moment. You may be able to get a taste of it, though, through daily practices—anything from meditation, prayer, to moments of silence and gratitude—to have those moments of spiritual connection.

Color: Violet

Element: None

Discover Reiki

bottom of page